Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Out now: 'The Burning House' by Shantigarbha

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 23 Aug, 2021 - 15:15

Out now: 'The Burning House' by Shantigarbha

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 23 Aug, 2021 - 15:15

2021 has been one of the hottest years on record in many parts of the globe. There have been wildfires in California, Turkey, Italy, Greece and Siberia as well as floods in the UK, Germany, Belgium, India and China. The continued existence of humans and other species is at risk if we don’t change our ways. 

António Guterres, the UN Secretary General, warned: ‘This is a code red for humanity. The alarm bells are deafening, and the evidence is undisputable:...

Buddhist Centre Features
Buddhist Centre Features

Calling the Earth to Witness: A Buddhist Perspective on Ecology

By Centre Team on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 14:56

Calling the Earth to Witness: A Buddhist Perspective on Ecology

By Centre Team on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 14:56

A Conversation with Shantigarbha and Dhivan

Saturday 25th September

11.30 US PST | 13.30 Mexico | 14.30 US EST | 19.30 UK & IE | 20.30 Europe CET | 04.30 Australia EDT | 07.30 New Zealand

Reserve a space on this event

The first ethical precept in Buddhism outlines the central importance of non-harm in all our behaviour. Of course, in the Buddha’s day over 2,500 years ago, there was no climate emergency, or...

Windhorse Publications
Buddhist Centre Features

Book Launch - The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency

By Centre Team on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 12:14

Book Launch - The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency

By Centre Team on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 12:14

Monday 30 August
11.00 US PST | 13.00 Mexico | 14.00 US EST | 19.00 IE & UK | 20.00 Europe CET | 06.00 New Zealand (next day)

Windhorse Publications are holding an online book launch to celebrate the publication of their latest title The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency by Shantigarbha.

In the book Shantigarbha explores how we can wake up and respond to the climate and ecological crisis from...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Summer reading ideas from Windhorse Publications

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 14 May, 2021 - 14:39

Summer reading ideas from Windhorse Publications

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 14 May, 2021 - 14:39

With summer in the northern hemisphere fast approaching, and infections under control in many places, including here in the UK, lockdown restrictions are beginning to ease. What joy to be able to spend time together again! Some of us are making plans to go away on holiday, even if the choice of destination is somewhat limited. 

We’re really proud of our new books this year and we think any – or all! – of them would make great summer reading. Whether...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Upcoming highlights this year

By Helen - Windhor... on Thu, 4 Mar, 2021 - 11:23

Upcoming highlights this year

By Helen - Windhor... on Thu, 4 Mar, 2021 - 11:23

Latest news

To tie in with The Buddhist Centre Online’s Triratna Day celebrations, until April 10th we’re giving away the eBook edition of Subhuti’s Sangharakshita: A New Voice in the Buddhist TraditionDownload your free copy here. 

Windhorse author Shantigarbha is offering six-week online courses on the theme of responding to the climate and ecological emergency, based on his new book The Burning House, due to be published in August (see below). The first course begins March...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Announcing ‘The Burning House’ and another free eBook

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 5 Feb, 2021 - 10:30

Announcing ‘The Burning House’ and another free eBook

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 5 Feb, 2021 - 10:30

We’re delighted to announce that in August we’ll be publishing Shantigarbha’s latest book, The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency. It’s an incredibly timely book, with the potential to have a significant impact. In it, Shantigarbha explores how we can wake up and respond to the climate and ecological crisis from a Buddhist perspective. It will be of interest both to Buddhists concerned about the climate and ecology, and to eco-activists wishing to ground their work...

Buddhist Action
Buddhist Action

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 14 Jul, 2020 - 15:16

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 14 Jul, 2020 - 15:16

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency with Shantigarbha
Sunday July 26


West Coast USA 08.00 | Mexico 10.00 | East Coast USA 11.00 | UK & IE 16.00 | Europe 17.00 CET | India 20.30 | Australia EST 01.00 (Monday 27) | New Zealand 03.00

Since Shantigarbha heard Greta Thunberg tell the European Parliament to act as if our house is on fire,...

Community Highlights
Community Highlights

Windhorse Publications Books Featured in Parabola, Vajra Bell and the Spiritual Media Blog

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 20 Nov, 2018 - 11:56

Windhorse Publications Books Featured in Parabola, Vajra Bell and the Spiritual Media Blog

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 20 Nov, 2018 - 11:56

Quite a number of Windhorse Publications’ books have been featuring recently in a variety of different magazines and blogs!

Firstly, you can find a chapter of Wild Awake: Alone, Offline and Aware in Nature by Vajragupta in the Fall 2018 edition of Parabola magazine, ’The Journey Home’.  

“Each time I dive deeper into the wilderness I can feel that green fire burning through me. Within me and without, I can sense the intense aliveness of life. But then I have to go back...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Interview with the author – Shantigarbha on his new book I’ll Meet You There

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 13 Aug, 2018 - 16:43

Interview with the author – Shantigarbha on his new book I’ll Meet You There

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 13 Aug, 2018 - 16:43

I’d love empathy to become a household word.

Shantigarbha, the author of our new release I’ll Meet You There: A Practical Guide to Empathy, Mindfulness and Communication shares his passion for Nonviolent Communication (NVC) and inspiration for the book in an interview for NVC-UK. Shantigarbha is an experienced teacher of both NVC and Buddhism; he is also a member of the Triratna Buddhist Order. He was given the name Shantigarbha, which means ‘seed of peace’.

How...

Pages