Community Highlights
The Community Toolkit for Uncertain Times

The Burning House: Eight Week Course with Shantigarbha

By Centre Team on Sat, 18 Sep, 2021 - 17:42

The Burning House: Eight Week Course with Shantigarbha

By Centre Team on Sat, 18 Sep, 2021 - 17:42

The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate Emergency

How can we wake up to the climate and ecological emergency? An eight-week course for anyone wishing to ground their work in a Dharma context

Eight Saturdays: October 16, 23, 30, November 6, 13, 20, 27, December 4 

Sessions (2 hrs 15 mins, with break): USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | Australia ...

Community Highlights
Buddhist Action

Bhikkhu Analayo to speak at Triratna Earth Sangha Conference

By Shantigarbha on Tue, 14 Sep, 2021 - 11:21

Bhikkhu Analayo to speak at Triratna Earth Sangha Conference

By Shantigarbha on Tue, 14 Sep, 2021 - 11:21

We’re delighted to announce that Bhikkhu Analayo has agreed to be interviewed in relation to his book and online course on Mindfully Facing Climate Change as part of Triratna Earth Sangha’s online conference, 24 - 26 September.

Registration for Triratna Earth Sangha’s conference is now open

For those of you who don’t know Analayo, here at the Triratna Earth Sangha we are deeply impressed by his book and online course on Mindfully...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Out now: 'The Burning House' by Shantigarbha

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 23 Aug, 2021 - 15:15

Out now: 'The Burning House' by Shantigarbha

By Helen - Windhor... on Mon, 23 Aug, 2021 - 15:15

2021 has been one of the hottest years on record in many parts of the globe. There have been wildfires in California, Turkey, Italy, Greece and Siberia as well as floods in the UK, Germany, Belgium, India and China. The continued existence of humans and other species is at risk if we don’t change our ways. 

António Guterres, the UN Secretary General, warned: ‘This is a code red for humanity. The alarm bells are deafening, and the evidence is undisputable:...

Community Highlights
Buddhist Action

Triratna Earth Sangha Conference 2021: Save the Dates!

By Shantigarbha on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 15:12

Triratna Earth Sangha Conference 2021: Save the Dates!

By Shantigarbha on Fri, 20 Aug, 2021 - 15:12

Friday 24 - Sunday 26 September 2021, Online

Conference begins Friday: 
USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India 23:30 | Australia AEST 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZST 07:00 (next day)

The Triratna Earth Sangha is a group of Triratna Order members, Mitras and Friends worldwide who are deeply concerned about the climate and ecological crises we...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Upcoming highlights this year

By Helen - Windhor... on Thu, 4 Mar, 2021 - 11:23

Upcoming highlights this year

By Helen - Windhor... on Thu, 4 Mar, 2021 - 11:23

Latest news

To tie in with The Buddhist Centre Online’s Triratna Day celebrations, until April 10th we’re giving away the eBook edition of Subhuti’s Sangharakshita: A New Voice in the Buddhist TraditionDownload your free copy here. 

Windhorse author Shantigarbha is offering six-week online courses on the theme of responding to the climate and ecological emergency, based on his new book The Burning House, due to be published in August (see below). The first course begins March...

Windhorse Publications
Windhorse Publications

Announcing ‘The Burning House’ and another free eBook

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 5 Feb, 2021 - 10:30

Announcing ‘The Burning House’ and another free eBook

By Helen - Windhor... on Fri, 5 Feb, 2021 - 10:30

We’re delighted to announce that in August we’ll be publishing Shantigarbha’s latest book, The Burning House: A Buddhist Response to the Climate and Ecological Emergency. It’s an incredibly timely book, with the potential to have a significant impact. In it, Shantigarbha explores how we can wake up and respond to the climate and ecological crisis from a Buddhist perspective. It will be of interest both to Buddhists concerned about the climate and ecology, and to eco-activists wishing to ground their work...

Buddhist Action
Buddhist Action

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 14 Jul, 2020 - 15:16

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency

By Sadayasihi on Tue, 14 Jul, 2020 - 15:16

The Burning House: A Buddhist response to the climate and ecological emergency with Shantigarbha
Sunday July 26


West Coast USA 08.00 | Mexico 10.00 | East Coast USA 11.00 | UK & IE 16.00 | Europe 17.00 CET | India 20.30 | Australia EST 01.00 (Monday 27) | New Zealand 03.00

Since Shantigarbha heard Greta Thunberg tell the European Parliament to act as if our house is on fire,...

Buddhist Action
Buddhist Action

For the Earth, From the Sangha: Poetry Readings and Other Voices

By rodashruti on Thu, 2 Jul, 2020 - 00:08

This is a companion recording to the series of podcasts I produced for Earth Week 2020: Hair On Fire - Buddhist Responses Turning Toward Climate Change

  1. Eva Soncin introduced Vimalasara.
     
  2. Vimalasara read “I am Africa” from her recently published book of poems, I Am Still Your Negro: An Homage to James Baldwin, published by University of Alberta Press. It’s available at your favorite online book sellers, and on order from local independent bookstores.
     
  3. Paul Greenberg read excerpts
  4. ...
Buddhist Action
Buddhist Action

For the Earth: The Environment and Social Justice

By kusaladevi on Wed, 1 Jul, 2020 - 11:41

For the Earth: The Environment and Social Justice

By kusaladevi on Wed, 1 Jul, 2020 - 11:41

For the Earth: The Environment and Social Justice, closing panel, Sunday 5th July

USA 11am PST | México 1pm | USA 2pm EST | UK & IE 7pm | Europe 8pm CET | India 23.30 | Sydney 04.00 (Monday 6th) | Auckland 06.00

Join us for a closing panel of five great speakers to help us round off BAM 2020!

Joining all of our wonderful, previous guests from this month’s exploration of how Buddhist practice...

Community Highlights
Buddhist Action

For the Earth: Deeper Resources for Action

By Sadayasihi on Fri, 26 Jun, 2020 - 13:01

For the Earth: Deeper Resources for Action

By Sadayasihi on Fri, 26 Jun, 2020 - 13:01

For the Earth: Deeper Resources for Action, by Guhyapati, Sunday 28th June

USA 11am PST | México 1pm | USA 2pm EST | UK & IE 7pm | Europe 8pm CET

The last year has seen important shifts in public narrative and awareness around the climate crisis. We’re living through enormous mobilisations on key social and ecological issues. For many, this feels like a turning point. In the midst of this historic point of disruption, awareness of the complexity of social change should alerts...

Pages