Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

#IC22 - Follow the International Council, Live All Week

Fri, 28 Oct, 2022 - 20:21

#IC22 - Follow the International Council, Live All Week

Fri, 28 Oct, 2022 - 20:21

All this week and next we’re live at the International Council! Order members from all around the globe meeting at Adhisthana to engage with the future of Triratna and of the Dharma manifesting in the world. It’s an inspiring, quietly radical gathering at the last home of our founder, Urgyen Sangharakshita. Come for Dharma stories, talks, magic.

FOLLOW ON INSTAGRAM

Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Subhuti with Bodhikámala: The Importance of the Dharma in Latin America

Mon, 23 May, 2022 - 06:48

Subhuti with Bodhikámala: The Importance of the Dharma in Latin America

Mon, 23 May, 2022 - 06:48

Recorded live in Toluca, México. Subhuti in conversation with Bodhikámala about the vital opportunities the Buddhist path offers to people in Latin America looking for a better way to live. The excitement, the challenges, and the significance for Triratna as one of the fastest-growing corners of our worldwide community starts to impact a Buddhist culture shaped until now largely by British, European, and Indian culture.

Join us for one of our best-loved and most experienced teachers in a dynamic conversation with the...

Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Mythic Dress-Up Sangha Time!

Mon, 4 Apr, 2022 - 00:39

Mythic Dress-Up Sangha Time!

Mon, 4 Apr, 2022 - 00:39

One big community of the heart and imagination

Saturday April 16 (northern hemisphere)
Sunday April 17 (southern hemisphere)

2 hrs: USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India 23:30 | Australia AEDT 04.00 (next day) | New Zealand NZDT 06.00 (next day)

Find out more and join us for a new kind of Dharma event for 2022

***

About the event
We...

Candradasa's picture
Candradasa

Help us become an inspiring Dharma home online to even more people around the world!

Tue, 21 Dec, 2021 - 01:58

Help us become an inspiring Dharma home online to even more people around the world!

Tue, 21 Dec, 2021 - 01:58

When the pandemic struck, Triratna had a well-developed web platform ready to go…

Throughout Covid, the Dharma Toolkit on Buddhist Centre Online has become an inspiring practice home for many thousands of people around the world. All our live events are available instantly to everyone on all devices. But our small team of dedicated web developers can’t meet the massive demand for digital Dharma. Over 50% of web use is now on phones, but with all our pandemic work...

Sadayasihi's picture
Sadayasihi

Re-Watch the Best of International Sangha Day 2021

Tue, 7 Dec, 2021 - 17:43

Re-Watch the Best of International Sangha Day 2021

Tue, 7 Dec, 2021 - 17:43

International Sangha Day 2021: “May Our Communication Be Sangha”

Sangha, spiritual community, can be described as a network of friendships based on what’s of most value. In the company of those committed to the Buddha’s teachings – past and present – we can express and deepen metta, loving-kindness, in our deeds, words and thoughts.

This year’s International Sangha Day celebration focused on communication because communication is a crucial part of the practice and development of Sangha. At its worst, communication can cause conflict...

Candradasa's picture
Candradasa

Karaniyametta Sutta - Chanted in Pali by Vimalanandi

Sun, 28 Nov, 2021 - 01:52

Karaniyametta Sutta - Chanted in Pali by Vimalanandi

Sun, 28 Nov, 2021 - 01:52

Part of the resources for the Home Retreat, ‘How To Really Save the World’, here is a core text for metta (loving kindness) practice in the Buddhist tradition. 

Beautifully chanted by Vimalanandi, the chanting of the sutta is accompanied by images of the Buddha Amitabha, the Buddha of the western direction traditionally associated with love.

For more resources and all the teaching from this retreat, see:
https://thebuddhistcentre.com/savetheworld

Read the Metta Sutta in English | Read an alternative translation

...

Liz Evers's picture
Liz Evers

Review: I Hear Her Words: An Introduction to Women in Buddhism by Alice Collett

Fri, 9 Jul, 2021 - 17:27

Review: I Hear Her Words: An Introduction to Women in Buddhism by Alice Collett

Fri, 9 Jul, 2021 - 17:27

The last two decades have seen a growth in Western scholarship about women in Buddhism. The Therīgāthā, a selection of 73 poems by enlightened Buddhist nuns over a 300-year period from the sixth century BCE, has had multiple recent translations and commentaries. Scholars including Rita Gross and Anne C. Klein have conducted feminist re-evaluations of Buddhism, while others have explored the experiences of women practising in specific cultures (for example, Martine Batchelor on her experience as a Jogye Zen...

Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Retelling the Tale of the Buddha (Buddha Day 2021)

Thu, 27 May, 2021 - 20:27

Retelling the Tale of the Buddha (Buddha Day 2021)

Thu, 27 May, 2021 - 20:27

For Buddha Day this year, we decided to offer up a treat from this year’s fantastic Home Retreat looking at the mythical life of the Buddha and its urgent relevance to us today.

Check out Buddha Day celebrations around Triratna

Follow us on Instagram for live updates all weekend

​Listen to a new series of seven talks by Nagasiddhi on the Buddha’s life

First, we have a beautiful re-telling of the Buddha’s life story told live with handmade sets and puppetry by Mandarava...

Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Alive in Nature - Sit and Walk Outdoors With Us!

Sun, 2 May, 2021 - 23:07

Alive in Nature - Sit and Walk Outdoors With Us!

Sun, 2 May, 2021 - 23:07

Alive in Nature!
A series of live meditations and Dharma adventures from the Scottish Highlands!

Saturdays May 8, 15, 22
First daily session (2 hrs): IE & UK 07:30 | Europe CET 08:30 | India 12:00 | Australia AEDT 16.30 | New Zealand 18.30

Second daily session (2 hrs): USA PST 11:00 | México 13:00 | USA EST 14:00 | IE & UK 19:00 | Europe CET 20:00 | India 23:30...

Centre Team's picture
Centre Team

Sources of Inspiration: Paramananda and Friends

From The Community Toolkit for Uncertain Times on Thu, 15 Apr, 2021 - 18:36

Sources of Inspiration: Paramananda and Friends

From The Community Toolkit for Uncertain Times on Thu, 15 Apr, 2021 - 18:36

In ‘Sources of Inspiration’, Paramananda talks to his guests about what gets their spiritual juices flowing and has helped them stay inspired in their rich, committed Dharma lives. Each week his guests bring something along to share - and a depth conversation begins…

These conversations were aired live and unrehearsed, so who knows what might emerge to delight or surprise us! Tune in and find out some of the things that keep experienced Buddhists going in these difficult times.

...